Radiation - with or without tattoo

ARichies
ARichies Member Posts: 33
Hi all. I have my first rads appointment with my Radiation Oncologist on 1st of July for my treatment plan. Thereafter ill be starting Tamoxifen.

From doing research I found that there's different types of radiation machines ( linear accelerators). There are ones that will need permanent tattoos done. And there's other types of machines that have like a surface guided radiation therapy that doesn't require permanent tattoo markers.

Are there any difference in these machines in risks of heart / lung injuries? Also do all rads require Deep Inspiration Breath Hold to prevent heart injuries? 

Perhaps I'm over thinking it. I'm just worried about long term side effects. 😕 
Anyone care to share their experience? Thanks so much. xx 

Comments

• Christabel03
    Christabel03 Member Posts: 80
    Hi @ARichies

I'm quite new to radiotherapy. I am at number 8 treatment of 33 to be done over the next six weeks. I don't have tattoos, I have some stickers that I am not allowed to peel off or wash off and I have some marker pen texta type lines on the stickers as well. I was told I would have this so they didn't have to tattoo me. I'm not really sure on the technical side of the machine that is being used but I do know that I have to hold my breath at least three or four times through my treatment. I found that gets easier once you get started as well.  If I'm honest I haven't really thought about any long term side effects, I just want to get it over and done with! So far all I have noticed is that I am slightly more fatigued than normal but my skin is holding up well so they tell me. 
    I hope treatment goes along ok for you try not to over think, although I know I am guilty of it too, we are so good at doing that! xx 

• ARichies
    Hi @Christabel03. Thank you for sharing your experience. Sounds like different centers have different ways of doing it.