Are/were you happy at your job?

StrongCoffee
StrongCoffee Member Posts: 128
I mean literally happy, as in smiling while you work. Not as in work makes you feel happy because it's rewarding/fulfilling etc.

I'm looking at a career change and trying to look outside the box for ideas where I can feel positive and happy at work.

Comments

• Afraser
    Afraser Member Posts: 4,354
    A pleasant and sociable workplace is certainly enjoyable but as someone who retired relatively recently (at 75) work that I felt had some meaning and significance was important. As a manager, I learned quite early that happiness depends to a very large degree on the individual rather than the job. When you know what makes you happy, you’ll find the job or even bring your happiness to a job that needs it. Best wishes. 
  • Cath62
    Cath62 Member Posts: 1,268
    edited May 2022
    Hi @StrongCoffee, I am not convinced that it's the job that makes people happy. For me happiness is an inside job. I am not of the view that things, jobs, other people etc make me happy. I had to find my own happiness from within myself. For me happiness is peace, happiness is my morning coffee, being with people I love and doing things I love to do. Maybe think about what you enjoy and the type of environment you would like to work in, one that supports what you want our of life. I think most people want supportive managers and teams to work in and we all have to work in jobs where we have the skills to do the job. What skill set do you have? I saw a post on here the other day with a qualified coach wanting to help people get back to work. Maybe this coach is something you could try. I did work with a coach years ago and it was fabulous. I don't know how to tag it but this was the title

' wanting to give back to BCNA community- helping with return to work/interviewing tips/resumes'
  • StrongCoffee
    @Afraser and @Cath62 for your replies.