Tamoxifen = immune compromised?

So with the Covid booster shot announcement, I'm confused!

I'm on tamoxifen. Didn't have rads or chemo. A quick google says tamoxifen doesn't effect the immune system - but why does it make me eligible for a covid booster?

I'm mostly curious as I want to know if I should be living with an awareness of being immunosuppressed. I'm a primary school teacher - lots of opportunity to get sick - so figure this is something I should know.

I won't be seeing my onc for a few months to ask the question, so I'm wondering if anyone here can shed some more light?

Comments

• Afraser
    Afraser Member Posts: 4,352
    I’m not sure why either but the wording in the eligibility definition is quite clear - immunology and/or hormonal therapy.
  • Keeping_positive1
    Keeping_positive1 Member Posts: 555
    edited October 2021
    Could it be that Tamoxifen reduces the amount of estrogen made in the body, whereas AI's are an estrogen blocker.  Therefore AI's are hormone blocking therapy, but tamoxifen reduces the amount of estrogen produced in the body.

@StrongCoffee I hope you get a definitive clear answer from your oncologist as to whether tamoxifen does compromise your immune system.  All the best and take care.

• Afraser
    Afraser Member Posts: 4,352
    I’m on an AI (femara) but still eligible, I don’t think a distinction is made, in regard to a third shot.  
  • arpie
    arpie Member Posts: 7,519
    No.  "Immune compromised" relates to chemo or other medical treatments .... from a healthline: Being immuno compromised can be due to many causes: chronic medical conditions, such as heart disease, lung disease, diabetes, HIV, and cancer, also autoimmune diseases, such as lupus, multiple sclerosis, and rheumatoid arthritis. medications or treatments, such as radiation therapy.