Financial Assistance

DebbieB
DebbieB Member Posts: 2 New Member
Hi, I am new to BCNA as I was recently diagnosed with Breast Cancer.  I have had two operations (lumpectomy) and now need to have a mastectomy.   I have used all of my current work sick leave and do not have any leave left to take.
Is there anyone out there that can talk me through the process of getting any of my superannuation out.   I seem to be hitting brick walls no matter which way I try.
Thanks Deb

Comments

• Locksley
    Locksley Member Posts: 911
    Hi Debbie welcome to the club no one wants to join.  What state are you In?  I'm not sure if different states have different rules.  In Victoria there is an organization called think pink.  If you email them they do have a financial advisor who works with them  from time to time who may be able to help you.  
  • Zoffiel
    Zoffiel Member Posts: 3,372
    Extracting your super is a pain in the arse; they really don't like you doing it, however if you genuinely in financial distress, it is possible. For the most part, you have to prove you are skint, or dying. Regarding the brick walls, are you getting consistent replies, or does the information vary every time you try? If there are inconsistencies, you can be pretty sure that you are being given the run-around. Take notes and keep records of who you spoke to and what they told you.

Persistence is the only way. Keep harping. I managed to release $10K of mine during treatment a few years ago, but not until I'd been on the dole for 6 months. If you haven't registered for benefits, bite the bullet and do it this afternoon.

I'm not sure if the changes to the rules which were made last year regarding super access are still in place. That's a very specific question that you need to ask your fund.

Also, check if you have any income protection attached to your policy.

• arpie
    arpie Member Posts: 7,521