Triple neg grade 3

Nix
Nix Member Posts: 28
edited March 2021 in Newly diagnosed
Ok. So I've just got my biopsy diagnosis and can't get into the surgeon for an app till Fri (my heads spinning and thinking ridiculous things that it'll grow by then)

I'm ok. I've come to terms with it, well so far anyway. I know this is a silly question because work is the last thing I should be worried about. However I really need the cash. I don't have much sick leave. 

I work in a hospital and they will be super supportive and I know that no matter what I won't lose my job. 

Can anyone give me an appropriate amount of time ill need off? I know it varies from person to person. But am I looking at months and months? Or just a few weeks. 

I think this is freaking me out the most. My gut instinct tells me that I'll be ok with the ca, it will be tough but ill get through it.

💕

Comments

• MicheleR
    MicheleR Member Posts: 343
    Oh bugger. So sorry to hear.

Well chemo was 5.5 months for me. I think triple negative chemo might be longer. Surgery itself youd be in hospital a week but it takes at least 6 weeks to get over depending what you have, some of the reconstructions might take longer.  Radiotherapy 5 weeks. 

It depends how you cope with all that. Ive only worked through radiotherapy. At first after surgery my head wasnt in the right place. Chemo i found i needed a lot of rest and it was nice not to worry about work. 

A lady diagnosed around the time i was worked up to final 5 weekly treatments for chemo. Some people dont have that many issues. Very variable. 

Does your super have income protection?
    What state are you in? Would covid be an issue/risk during chemo working in a hospital? Do you have help at home?

Michele

• Nix
    Oh shit. Covid. I live alone but do have support. I'll actually call my super company now.  I'm in Victoria. 
  • Nix
    @iserbrown thank you 🙏
  • Afraser
    Afraser Member Posts: 4,352