Is reconstruction right for me -

catey
catey Member Posts: 6
I am very new to all of this and the site. I had a diagnosis in May. Surgery within 3 weeks and then straight into chemo in June. I was told by my surgeon because my margin surgery was still not 100% that following chemo, there would be a mastectomy of my right breast. And that included a reconstruction and reduction of left breast. Well, it's moved so fast that now I've finished chemo 3 weeks ago and met the surgeon and plastic surgeon but 2 weeks out I don't know that I can face a reconstruction. I'm older, not super fit, exhausted by chemo and just not sure I can cope with reconstruction surgery. I haven't concentrated on this during chemo as I couldn't do the thinking - I know I should have. I just accepted it because that's what I was told was happening. I'm really not certain I could cope with a reconstruction.  I'm struggling but thinking at this stage I'll opt for a mastectomy but really concerned of having a large remaining heavy breast on my left side. Actually, I really don't know what to do.

Comments

• iserbrown
    iserbrown Member Posts: 5,540
    Here's a link to a site that, if you haven't seen it already, will give you indepth information 
    https://www.reclaimyourcurves.org.au/

Take care 
  • catey
    thanks -it's hard making the decision so appreciate all feedback and resources.  Surgery for a reconstruction seems very daunting but it's the recovery that worries me the most. But I'm not sure opting out of reconstruction is the best option just because I'm nervous about recovery.  I don't want to minimise other people's experience though - 
  • Afraser
    Afraser Member Posts: 4,352
    Dear @Catedwyer