Diagnosed 2 Days Ago

Raich
Raich Member Posts: 114
Hi Everyone,

I was diagnosed with breast cancer on Wednesday. I found the lump 3 weeks ago and saw my doctor straight away so it’s been stressful waiting for the results. 
My Auntie made a full recovery from dcis 17 years ago so I am not scared or worried. 
I have my CT scan in 3 days (Monday) and will get my results On Wednesday. 
I’m waiting on an appointment at the Breast Cancer clinic which will entail an 800km round trip. 
Also waiting to see how to manage time off work (I’m a teacher).  Currently having a couple of weeks off while I process this curveball and find out my plan. 
I’m so impressed already with the support from my doctor and the McGrath Nurses in just the past 3 days.

Comments

• ddon
    ddon Member Posts: 349
    Welcome. It’s a difficult and uncertain time, even if you are feeling positive, which it seems you are. Wishing you the best with your CT and treatment plan xx
  • primek
    primek Member Posts: 5,392
    Hi and welcome.  Yes the waiting is so hard and I felt much better with a plan. I really hoped I could work but between illness on chemo and my mental health I really couldn't.  My recovery from chemo took time but I'm back full time and forging on. We really don't know how we will be. So have a plan with a back up in case things are different than expected.  X
  • Afraser
    Afraser Member Posts: 4,352
    Welcome! I am sure you really don’t want to be here but we’ll all be pleased to support you in whatever way we can. 
    You sound as if you have got your priorities and thinking pretty straight and organised, well done. I didn’t have a breast care nurse but all the staff I dealt with were supportive and helpful, it makes things a lot easier.