to work or not to work

Pamella
Pamella Member Posts: 8
edited May 2020 in Newly diagnosed
I've recently had a 3cm lump removed. It was all clear around the lump, but there were minute traces in the sentinal node, but nothing in the next two nodes. It is hormone related in the ducts and at some stage I will be having radiation and going on hormone blockers, which I have no problem with. However my oncologist has suggested that I should also have chemo.  As I have had chemo in the past (22 years ago for leukemia) I really don't want to go through that again.  However it is looking like I should.  My question is, and this is perhaps me desperately clinging onto continuing my life with some sort of normality, should I try to continue to work.  I work as a part time (2 days a week) office manger/receptionist in a Physiotherapy clinic. I love my job, and there is some flexibility with working hours with the other reception staff.  But wonder if it may be too much, trying to cope with the possible side effects and also especially in this day of Covid-19, to try to work through my treatment.

Comments

• Afraser
    Afraser Member Posts: 4,354
    Hi @Pamella