Painful breast pre treatment

Clea
Clea Member Posts: 9
edited February 2020 in Newly diagnosed
Hello, this is my first time posting, just wanted to say this is a great resource and hi to everyone on their own cancer journey. I first noticed a lump in my breast in about July 2019, went to get a check at GP in August, didnt follow up with referal until December. Got a Mammogram and ultrasound and they werent very impressed with how things were looking and as I had very dense breast tissue, I was also referred for an abbreviated MRI on which they found a second mass. I was referred to a breast clinic for biopsy, and received my diagnoses of Invasive Ductal Carcinoma (multifocal - 2 visible lesions) on Jan 24th. Grade 2 Early Cancer, MRI showed no visible lymph node involvement.  Ive just been going through a process of working out what surgery options are best for me and have decided on unilateral mastectomy with diep reconstruction. I meet with the plastic surgeon in two weeks and then likely surgery on the 4th March. SORRY for the long winded explanation BUT the reason I am posting is.. I know they say that breast cancer usually doesnt cause pain, but Im getting quite an ache in the tumour that is closest to my skin (palpable) Should I be worried about this? Did anyone else have pain before treatment? Am I leaving surgery too long? Doctor says it is completely within a safe time period. Thanks in advance for advice.

Comments

• ara
    ara Member Posts: 28
    @Clea hello!

Its nice to see you here although I wish you are not here in this forum as well if you know what I mean.

In regards with your question, before I was diagnosed I also felt pain where the lump is. The pain is tolerable but a nagging pain that comes and goes but is constantly there.