Return to work

KayB55
KayB55 Member Posts: 75
Chemo 5 coming up soon then operation on December 6 and unsure about radium after that.  I have been on sick leave since July and that continues til school resumes in 2020. I am a teacher so I do need to set out my intentions in terms of return to work next year so that plans can be put in place for a replacement if needed etc. Are there any teachers out there in forum land who could give me some advice about 'going back to work' and what I should be considering before I actually state my 'intentions'? I will ring and speak to the Breast Cancer people tomorrow to get their advice etc. 
Tagged:

Comments

• youngdogmum
    youngdogmum Member Posts: 250
    Not a teacher, paediatric nurse...Im 2 months post final radiation this month and to be honest, I'm getting bored. I thought Id give myself the whole year  but I realistically think Ill probably go back part time this month. I guess since you don't know your full treatment plan its difficult, but my skin was fully recovered 4 weeks after radiation and I could wear a bra and top again..you might be cutting it fine to get back to school for term one. However many people do work full-time through radiation, it is much much easier generally than chemo. I could have worked but didn't want to. 
  • Beryl C.
    Beryl C. Member Posts: 270