life after tamoxifen

Delbel
Delbel Member Posts: 3
Hi All,

This is my first time posting.
I was one of those that coped better trying to forget about breast cancer.
I had a breast removed, chemo, radiation and currently in my 6th year of Tamoxifen. (It was originally prescribed for 5 years then almost flippantly my surgeon said lets make it 10 years).
Tamoxifen has completely eradicated my sex drive although when I do get going I really enjoy it, but, enjoyable as it is I never orgasm.
I guess my questions are, has anybody been on Tamoxifen for a long period and then finished? Does your sex drive and more importantly do orgasms go back to normal?

Comments

• kezmusc
    kezmusc Member Posts: 1,544
    Hi @Delbel,

Welcome lovely.  It's a very depressing part of the whole chemo menopause, hormone therapy shebang.  I jump off tamoxifen regularly.  At the beginning the libido returned quite quickly when I stopped it but it is taking longer each time I have a break.  Not sure of your menopausal status but this can have a lot to do with it as well.  Maybe one of our other lovely ladies that has finished the Tamoxifen might jump on with more info for you.
    Believe me when I say i soooooooooo  hope it comes back with a bang for both of us!  Pardon the pun LOL
  • Delbel
    Hi Kez. thank you so much for your response.
    Hopefully there are others that were in the same boat and escaped to something approaching normal, whatever that is lol.
  • Kingsmead
    Kingsmead Member Posts: 4