Why not join the Living with metastatic private group? Access group via the link here.

Work

Glynnis
Glynnis Member Posts: 353
edited October 2019 in Metastatic breast cancer
Hi everyone
I'm sure this has properly been asked before but not sure so here goes. 

I'm 60, have metastatic breast cancer in 3 spots, 2 in spin and 1 in pelvis it's stable on the medications, the medications I take are kisqali, letrozole, blood pressure meds, and cholesterol meds, I also have a kidney stent in. 
Seriously thinking about giving up work at the moment.
My question is how can centrelink help me if I give up work?
Finding I'm getting very tired and am up at least 4 times during the night with the stent.
I work in retail 3  1/2 days a week So 15 hours in total but just feel it's getting a bit much at the moment, so any help would be appreciated, if anyone has been in same position at all.
Thanks all 😀

Comments

• arnlybub
    arnlybub Member Posts: 20
    Hi Glynnis,

I'm not in your position but I've found this link which I think is up to date.  As far as I can see you would be entitled to the Disability Support Pension: 

https://www.dss.gov.au/our-responsibilities/disability-and-carers/benefits-payments/disability-support-pension-dsp-better-and-fairer-assessments/fast-tracking-disability-support-pension-claims-for-people-with-profound-disability-or-terminal-illness

Good luck and I wish you well.
  • Glynnis
    @arnlybub Thankyou had seen that but still wasn't sure whether I w ass eligible or not Thank you so much for the link have book marked it now 😀
  • Beryl C.
    Beryl C. Member Posts: 270