Oncotype Dx test

Blanka
Blanka Member Posts: 6
edited September 2019 in General discussion
Hello everybody, 
I'm new to this webpage. Sadly 3 weeks ago diagnosed with BC, I'm 47. I decided for full mastectomy and my results were good for to be able to do Oncotype DX test. I'm having first app. with oncologist this Thursday, will go ahead with the test and hope all goes well. I'm having couple questions, if somebody will be so kind to help me. How long it takes get results back? If good results and I don't have to have chemo, is there anybody who had this test done many years ago and still cancer free? I'm just so scared if I don't have chemo that cancer will come back..... I'm bit mess atm. especially every time I look on my kids or start to think about the future. hank you very much

Comments

• Afraser
    Afraser Member Posts: 4,352
    Sorry you have to be here but it’s a good place for advice. I know that chemo sounds scary, no-one likes it but if it’s recommended, it’s worth at least giving it a shot. With cold cap, some are able to keep their hair and many don’t find the side effects as bad as they used to be. I didn’t really have a choice but it can be comforting to know you have done everything you can to stop bc in its tracks. I worked through chemo, no nausea or fatigue. It’s a bit of a lucky dip! Good luck with your test. 
  • Giovanna_BCNA
    Giovanna_BCNA Member Posts: 1,839
    Hello @Blanka,
    Welcome to BCNAs  online community were you can connect with our very supportive community members.  It can be a tough time making decisions regarding treatment. See link below with further information regarding Oncotype DX test. 
    https://www.bcna.org.au/understanding-breast-cancer/treatment/surgery/breast-cancer-pathology/
    Dont hesitate to call the BCNA helpline on 1800 500 258 if you would like to speak with a cancer nurse for information and or support. Wishing you all the best
  • kmakm
    kmakm Member Posts: 7,974