Why not join the Living with metastatic private group? Access group via the link here.

De Novo Metastatic with new progression - first post

Bris1976
Bris1976 Member Posts: 13
edited March 2019 in Metastatic breast cancer
Hi there,
I am completely new to the discussion boards (first post) and trying to stay positive. I was wanting to reach out to others who might understand what I am going through.  I was diagnosed de novo metastatic on 04/07/2018.  Originally it was a single spot to my spine (L2) then a few weeks ago I found out there were some new spots (T12 and right sternum) and then yesterday I found out it is now also in a lot of other vertebrae, left hip and that one of my vertebrae has partially collapsed.  I am on the ribociclib/letrozole combination as well as receiving monthly injections of Zoladex and Denosumab and am taking Vitamin D and calcium supplements.  Unfortunately my regular oncologist was away yesterday with a really lovely trainee oncologist taking my appointment.  He was very patient with me but wanted to wait until I can see my regular oncologist in two weeks time where she will discuss what happens next with treatment.  He told me it was very unusual but it didn't seem the ribociclib/letrozole combination was working for me anymore but there were other treatment options available.  Back in the beginning, I did get a pathological fracture to my spine (L2) which was treated after a month or so with stereotactic radiotherapy which I thought had controlled the tumour.  I started experiencing pain in my lower back again and was referred to do an MRI which shows multiple new metastases.  I am really worried about getting another fracture as the last fracture I had was so painful and debilitating.  I really hate having cancer but I REALLY hated losing my mobility.  I am 42 years old and live alone.  I am currently taking extremely good care of my health (nutrition, daily low impact exercise and rest) but don't know what else to do.  Is there any