27 year old lobular carcinoma

youngdogmum
youngdogmum Member Posts: 250
edited February 2019 in Newly diagnosed
Hi there,
I’m 27 and based in Brisbane just now. 
12 days ago I was diagnosed with invasive lobular carcinoma. I don’t yet know lymph involvement but am guessing it’s likely (nothing showed on USS or palpable however.)
My surgeon has recommended a full lymph clearance.
Is there anyone else out there this young with lobular? 

My biggest fear is leaving my husband behind without any children, what if my illness causes him to miss his chance of having kids with someone else one day? 

Unfortunately I’m a nurse so know a bit too much about what I’m about to go through. 
I have a mastectomy in 3 days and axillary clearance. 

Trying to remain positive.
At what point did you ladies meet your oncologist? I’m not meeting them until next week when the final pathology/sizing etc is back after surgery and they’ve had an MDT to decide my treatment plan. Is this normal? I’m public.

Comments

• kmakm
    kmakm Member Posts: 7,974
    edited February 2019
    Hello and welcome. I'm sorry you joined us, but I hope you find it as helpful and supportive as I have.

There is a young women's group here which you might like to check out.

https://onlinenetwork.bcna.org.au/group/10-young-women

I didn't see my oncologist until after my wide local excision and a re-excision for margins, and all the pathology was in. Treatment options can change after surgery as the mammograms and ultrasounds often don't accurately reflect the size of the tumour. So yes, it's normal as far as I'm aware, to see your oncologist at that point.

We've got quite a few medical trained patients here, I'm sure they'll be along soon to advise on how manage BC in your position.

Make sure you speak to your oncologist about fertility issues at your first appointment. I'm not sure what you mean about leaving your husband unable to have kids with someone else. Are you able to clarify?