What research should we be doing?

wingman
wingman Member Posts: 3
edited December 2018 in General discussion
Hello BCNA community! This is my first post. I'm a scientist working on breast cancer and I was looking through some of the threads here and it strikes me that the issues we scientists think are the important ones to study may not be the only ones where research is urgently needed. So my questions to you are: What outcomes should we be working towards that you think are most important? Are there issues to do with breast cancer diagnosis/treatment/survivorship/anything else that you feel are being overlooked in research? Looking forward to hearing any thoughts on this! xx
Tagged:

Comments

• kezmusc
    kezmusc Member Posts: 1,544
    Hey @wingman,

Thank you, thank you for joining.  I am sure you are going to be very popular! 

I have two suggestions off the bat.  The cognitive disfunction associated with hormone therapy.  This thing goes on seemingly forever after you have finished your "active treatment"  and has a massive impact on the quality of life for those that suffer with this side effect.  There are a lot of posts on here about this subject.

2.  I personally would like to know more about whether or not phytoestrogens alter the effectiveness of hormone therapy.  Those of us on these drugs are advised not to take anything like promensil, remifen etc to help with the hot flushes and the effects of being thrown unwillingly and somewhat early into menopause in case they render the HT drugs ineffective.
  • Romla
    Romla Member Posts: 2,092
    Welcome to the community Wendy !  It is wonderful that you have taken the time to come and listen to us. Feel free to join in the conversations as I think we will all be chuffed that you are interested and willing to listen.
  • Blossom1961
    Blossom1961 Member Posts: 2,362
    edited November 2018