Stage 3 Invasive Lobular Cancer diagnosis

KezzaG
KezzaG Member Posts: 13
edited October 2018 in Newly diagnosed
Hi everyone, this is my first time on here and I've been reading everyone's stories and comments.  What an amazing bunch of people that are here.  Having read so many stories has encouraged me to post my on story and questions that I hope some of you  may have an answer on or even just an opinion on.
I'd been having regular mammograms for a few years as my Mum had breast cancer a number of years ago.  She had an optional mastectomy and is still going strong today, 15 years later.
My last mammogram was in March this year and I was given the all clear and advised I didn't need to come back for 2 years. In early August whilst showering though I found a small lump in my breast.  I wasn't overly concerned but went to the doctor and he sent me for an US.  The results of the US showed a small lump but also a swollen lymph node.  I was then sent for biopsies and an MRI. The biopsies returned showing cancer in the lump and the lymph node. The MRI also showed a small lump. I was booked into the surgeon 3 days later and was advised that I could have a lumpectomy but was offered a mastectomy if I wanted.  I absolutely didn't want a mastectomy. One week later I had the surgery and was thinking that I was glad that was over and done with.  The removal of the lymph nodes and my right arm was definitely far more painful and difficult to manage than the actual lumpectomy.  But I was glad it was all over and done with.
5 days later I returned to the surgeon only to be told that 9 out of 21 lymph nodes removed were cancerous along with the surrounding tissue from the lump.  She advised I had Stage 3 Invasive Lobular cancer and had to have a mastectomy on my right breast and needed to consider having my left breast removed as well. Talk about totally shell shocked..... I couldn't understand or stop crying.