Newly Diagnosed

Flossy
Flossy Member Posts: 12
edited August 2018 in Newly diagnosed
Hello lovely ladies, I  was diagnosed 3 weeks ago following after a routine mammogram. At the call back session at BreastScreen they told me I had breast cancer and had to wait the agonising week to find out results of a FNA of axillia. A week later diagnosis was confirmed Moderately differentiated invasive ducal carcinoma and positive lymph node involement. Was difficult to except with no lump to feel, no symptoms to see and a month till I turn 50... Have seen a surgeon, had all CT, MRI & bone scan tests. Finally some positive news my cancer is ER & PR positive, Her 2 status neg. My surgeon agreed to let me go to Fiji next week with my family to celebrate my milestone birthday and have been booked for wide excision lumpectomy and axillary dissection on 4/9/18. She also started me on tamoxifen. The waiting for results has been the hardest. I am a midwife and registered nurse, I kept thinking about all the beautiful women I looked after 30 years ago who were so butchered and so incredibly ill from chemo....demons in my head.Reading your posts in so very comforting to someone who is about to start the long journey...

Comments

• kmakm
    kmakm Member Posts: 7,974
    Hi Flossy. So sorry you find yourself here in the club that no one wants to join. But as places to hang out go, this is a very warm and supportive one. Feel free to vent, rage, cry, worry and ask as many questions as you like. We'll hold your hand every step of the way.

Right now you're in the thick of the worst of it, the beginning. The waiting for results is the absolute pits. It all gets better once your treatment is underway. Bizzarely you get used it, it becomes routine. In the meantime, really try your hardest to live each day one at a time. Try not to cross any bridges until you come to them.