IDC, 30 years old, BRCA1

StephO
StephO Member Posts: 16
edited April 2018 in Newly diagnosed
Hi,

My name is Steph. I’m 30 years old. I have recently been diagnosed with breast cancer (IDC). I also have BRCA1 gene mutation.
i have had sentinel node biopsy which came back clear (3 lymph nodes taken).

this coming Tuesday 10th of April I will be under going a bilateral mastectomy with reconstruction (expanders/implants?).

My Mum had breast cancer 5 years ago, aged 57.

A little about me... 
I am a single mother to an almost 7 year old boy. I have an identical twin sister. I work as a nurse in aged care.

i would be interested in chatting to other women Dx with BC around my age. I’m also happy to chat with other women of any aged dx with BC.

thanks 

Comments

• kmakm
    kmakm Member Posts: 7,974
    Hi Steph. I'm sorry that you've found yourself here but I hope you'll find it as supportive and helpful as I have.

Scroll down and you'll see listed in the groups section a group called 'Young Women' which would be perfect for you.

You can also use the search bar to navigate to particular subjects that interest you.

Hugs and best wishes. Hang in there. Kate xox
  • Sister
    Sister Member Posts: 4,960
    Welcome @StephO. You'll find a lot of info and support here.  I see that @kmakm has suggested the Young Women group.  As you may have noticed, there is also the Choosing Breast Reconstruction group.  Good luck with surgery on Tuesday.
  • lrb_03
    lrb_03 Member Posts: 1,267
    @JoeyLiz, you may be able to help out here.

@StephO, sorry you find yourself here, but you'll find lots of support, regardless of age. I  too, am a nurse, no longer working clinically ad I developed lymphoedema after my surgery. 
    Take care
  • onemargie
    onemargie Member Posts: 1,264