Sydney support groups - northern beaches

traceyl0309
traceyl0309 Member Posts: 3
edited February 2018 in Newly diagnosed
Hi everyone i am new to this and hope i am posting correctly.

I am a 47year old, mother of two, and was diagnosed while working in the U.S.A on 21 September 2017 with rare & aggressive stage III inflammatory cancer of my breast & lymph nodes. I returned home that weekend and started chemotherapy the week after, and i am in the final stages of that before i have surgery, radiation, and then look at other options once my pathology is clear post surgery. It has been a challenging and tough time, and nothing i knew, heard or understood could have prepared me for what i have been through with chemotherapy and the side effects impact, never mind the diagnosis.

I am looking for some local (happy to travel any direction up to half hour) support groups. If anyone has any suggestions or can redirect me to where these are on this website, i would appreciate it.

Thank you :smile: Trace
Tagged:

Comments

• SoldierCrab
    SoldierCrab Member Posts: 3,445
    @Alpal  and @TonyaM
    thought you ladies might like to talk about your groups ... and maybe point in direction of any other groups. 
  • SoldierCrab
    SoldierCrab Member Posts: 3,445
  • TonyaM
    TonyaM Member Posts: 2,835
    edited January 2018
    Hi Trace and other lovelies here,
    I facilitate a bc support group in the Hills area of Sydney called Kellyville Breast Buddies. We meet on the first Friday of the month for morning tea at a cottage in Kenthurst.We keep updated with information,share our experiences and invite guest speakers.We offer friendship,support and resources. It’s probably abit far for you Trace but everyone is welcome. Tonya
  • Alpal
    Alpal Member Posts: 196
    Hi Trace,
    It certainly is a challenging time to go through the various surgeries and treatment but I'm glad you found your way here.