Income Protection

Sister
Sister Member Posts: 4,960
Hi, Long introduction: One of the things I've been grappling with is going back to work.  As my diagnosis came almost at the end of the school year and I work in the education sector, I'm off work for a few weeks anyway.  I have looked at my Super and I do have income protection (75% for 2 years).  I have had the surgery, I'm waiting for results and have not yet seen an oncologist but I've been told I will almost certainly need rads and hormone therapy.  As I understand it, the moment I go back to work, I then have to wait another 6 week period without pay before I could qualify for the income protection.  My GP has said that I absolutely should not consider going back in Term 1 and assess Term 2 when the time is closer.  I'm finding this hard to get my head around.  Why can't they just say, "Yep, we know you've got cancer and you're quite probably going to find it hard to work sometimes but work when you can and we'll give you the income support when you can't"... it doesn't make a lot of sense to me.  However, we are not in a financial position to go another 6 weeks without income if I try working and can't continue.  I love my job and the people are great but it can get quite physical with lifting, bending and stretching plus a long drive each way.

The point of my post is that I would be interested to hear if anyone has any advice or similar experiences.

Comments

• The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • primek
    primek Member Posts: 5,392