Any Oncology or Haematology or Palliative care nurses out there?

My3sons
My3sons Member Posts: 5
Well this is still all quite surreal to me! I’ve been an oncology/haematology/palliative care nurse for 30+ Year’s .....when people ask what kind of nursing I do I generalise and say “I’m a cancer nurse!” This diagnosis adds a whole new meaning to the title! Lol! I’ve kind of dodged a bullet (well compared to many) as only required a lumpectomy, Im in the middle of 4 weeks of radiation....then 5 years or so of Letrazole! I swing between being amazingly positive to choosing music for my funeral! Mainly I’m keeping upbeat with my out there sense of humour.......!!! This is kind of working for me!.......And I think am up to about 30 friends and family getting their mammograms on since I was diagnosed! Touch wood all clear....

Comments

• PeterB
    PeterB Member Posts: 65
    Just finished my five years. You seem to be handling it very well.
    Good Luck
    PetetB
  • Afraser
    Afraser Member Posts: 4,352
    Humour is one of the best medicines! If you can keep that as you go through treatment, you will be fine. It's the sort of hands on learning you want to avoid like the plague, but having happened, you will have new insights and knowledge. As you have already shown by encouraging mammograms. Best wishes for the future.
  • primek
    primek Member Posts: 5,392
    I've worked in oncology and palliative care as well as nursing my own father at home with lung cancer and provided support to my brothers family as they nursed his wife who had endometrial cancer. It can help but it can also make us a bit pessimistic as we don't work with the ones that do make it.