New to this.....

Options
lawsdaws
lawsdaws Member Posts: 22
edited February 2014 in General discussion

Hi, 

I'm new to all of this but thought it looked like a great support network of people all in the same boat! I am 32, have 2 young sons and was diagnosed on Jan 16th (my son's 7th birthday - great timing!). It's been a massive shock as there's no family history, I'm pretty young and have been feeling really healthy and energetic! 

I had an enlarged axillary lymph node in mid Sept, had it scanned - results were that it was a reactive node and should go down. Didn't go down so I went back in Dec and my GP felt it, said it hadn't grown so go back in Jan if it was still there. Went back in Jan, had another ultrasound (said it was fine) plus an FNA which showed cancer cells. It's been a whirlwind ever since with all sorts of tests and learning about things and making decisions about things that I never thought I'd have to consider.

Breast ultrasound, mammograms, blood tests, CT, bone scan and MRI all clear - just the axillary lymph node. Had all lymph nodes removed 3 weeks ago and 3 out of the 16 were cancerous. Pathology results were that the cells are strongly oestrogen positive, progesterone negative, HER2 positive, grade 3 cells. Had another surgery yesterday to put in an infusion port to save my veins over the coming year! Looking at having double mastectomy and reconstruction after the radio too....

Treatment plan is 12 weeks of AC, once every 3 weeks then 12 weeks of Paclitaxel, once a week as well as starting Herceptin at the same time. Then 5 weeks of radiotherapy everyday (except weekends, yay!). Plus Tamoxifen for 5 ish years. It's a lot to take in and the countdown is on as I start the chemo next week!