Work Wise...

Options
benellendan
benellendan Member Posts: 25
edited November 2010 in General discussion

I started the process of applying for partial invalidity through my superannuation fund today.  Before breast cancer, I worked full time in a high profile government agency as a senior HR manager.  It took a lot of energy and time to complete my university degree so that I could make the leap into higher level management.  

At the time of trying to finish my studies, I was a single mother of 3 small children and working part time as well as working through a full time study load.  Looking back on that time now I think I must have been insane to take something like that on, but when I graduated there was such a sense of relief and achievement.  

It didn't take me long to find a new job and before long, I was earning enough money to stop receiving a single parent pension (I was determined to get to a place where I didn't need to rely on child support to pay the bills - long story) and to move out of our very tiny government flat into something bigger and more suitable to my little family.  

Five years later and working in a dream job (for me anyway) I now have to consider giving some of that away.  It's been really really hard to do.  Still, I also know that I'm not the same person I was 12 months ago and what was important to me then, isn't so important now - family is, not work.  I'm grieving over what I've lost because of this bloody cancer - not just the breast and my sense of security in my own body, but a dramatic change to my work responsibilities as well as a drop in income (and a reliance on husband now to carry the financial load).