Jacqui

Options
jacmou
jacmou Member Posts: 4
edited October 2010 in General discussion

Hi, I'm a little nervous about this as it's my first time - where are the kids when you need them?

I'm looking forward to "meeting" some sister survivors after doing a 11 year stretch.

It's such a beautiful sunny spring day that I feel anything's possible. Enjoy!

Comments

• Leonie Moore
    Leonie Moore Member Posts: 1,470
    edited March 2015
    Options

Welcome to the site.  Yes it is a bit scary at first.  I found that I was like a little puppy leaving bits of information everywhere. I understand that your diagnosis was 11 years ago.  Congratulations.  My anniversary of 4 years is coming up soon.  I am thankful for every day as with most of us at the beginning we think it is the end of our life.  In reality it is an end to our "old life" and an opening to our "new life". Are you involved with any local support groups in your area?  I am part of the Rockhampton Dragonboat club - a group of cancer survivors and supporters.  We paddle most weekends but the best part is the morning tea afterwards.  We give each other great support and have lots of laughs. I hope you enjoy the site and get out of it what you need.XLeonie

• ShirlO
    ShirlO Member Posts: 350
    edited March 2015
    Options

Hi there Jacqui .... welcome to your new family.  There's a saying you can pick your friends but you're stuck with your family .... so girl you're stuck with us forever.

I was diagnosed in January of this year and opted for a right side mastectomy and removal of lymph glands rather than a lumpectomy and some of the glands. Being a betting woman I much preferred the odds with the former action and at 62 considered that my breast(s) had done their job, fed two children etc etc.  This was the right decision for me but may not be shared by everyone.