Home Newly diagnosed

Scared that I’m not strong enough for this

rebeccamarierebeccamarie Member Posts: 23
edited July 17 in Newly diagnosed
Hi everyone,
I’m not very good at online forums but I’m going to have a go. 
I found out I have a 2.5cm infiltrating duct carcinoma (?) on Thursday and I see a surgeon this afternoon. I was sort of expecting it to be cancer - my anxiety levels have always been larger than any breast lump could aspire to be - but it’s still a bit of a bummer. My GP and sonographer were both expecting (or at least led me to expect) the biopsy results would show a fibroadenoma and obviously that’s what we were all hoping for. 
I only found the lump a month ago, but it felt hard and huge and scared the lights out of me. I can’t fathom how I didn’t notice it growing before. That’s the thing that’s freaking me out the most. I don’t want to stress anyone else out, but seriously? How long has this thing been inside me? That’s terrifying.

Mostly I’m feeling offended, though. I’m 33 and I try to be healthy. I eat vegetarian which means loads of fruit and veg and grains (also some junk food lol but what’s the fun in being perfect all the time). I don’t smoke, I barely drink alcohol, I avoid as much unnecessary medication as possible, I drink loads of water, I always walk 10000 stupid steps a day. I even go to the dentist every six months like clockwork, which I feel like nobody actually does lol. So I’m just feeling kind of ripped off. I could not have been better if I tried. (I 100% could by the way lol. This is just self-righteous anger. I could exercise more, I could get more sun, I could have more regular checkups, I could take up yoga, I could drink less coffee...)