I've never done this before, blogged that is...

purpledots13
purpledots13 Member Posts: 5
edited September 2011 in General discussion

Hi there my name is Penny and in May last year I was chopping wood and after I felt a lump in my armpit it hurt. When I went to the doctor she did a breast exam and suggested I wait a month and see if it went away. 2 weeks later a lump appeared a bit like mastitis. The day after my 44th birthday I went to have my first mammogram then an ultrasound. Had to wait over the weekend to have a fine needle biopsy what weekend. On the 7thJuly 2010 I had a masectomy and auxillary clearance and 3 weeks later had my right kidney removed because that was all cancer not related thankfully. So now after 8 lots of chemo, and nearly finished herceptin.. I am about the see a surgeon to have a reconstruction and the other breast removed. I have read that expanders and implants are good for small breasts but does anyone know if they can do them for D cups???

Comments

• Chris
    Chris Member Posts: 813
    edited March 2015
    Hi, so sorry to hear about both of your cancers. Hope you are doing well. I will be having a second mastectomy and insertion of tissue expanders next Wednesday. I had my first mastectomy last December. I'm only a B cup, but my friend who also had a bilateral mastectomy and implants, went up to a size D cup without any issues. Her new boobs look amazing, infact it was her good job, that convinced me to have the same surgery and the same surgeon. I'm quite happy to remain a B cup, as that size has served me well.
    When will you begin reconstruction?
    Love Chris xxx
  • Tanya
    Tanya Member Posts: 380
    edited March 2015