Why not join the Living with metastatic private group? Access group via the link here.

Scared

Hi,
I'm new to this kind of discussion so please be patient with me. 
I was diagnosed with metastasic breast cancer last year. So far with chemotherapy I feel relatively good. But now it is the time of a PAP smear and I so don't want to do it. I'm so scared they find anything. Not that there are any reasons to believe they would.
Last time after a PAP smear the nurse called me to make an appointment with the words I really hate
"there is nothing to worry about". I ended up in hospital with an anxiety attack. In the end after an gynological examination everything was fine. But after 5 years of Tamoxifen I couldn't be sure.
I'm not taking that drug anymore.
Do I really have to go or can I ignore the annoying letters from the PAP smear register?
What do you think?
A good advice is appreciated.
Thanks to all
Sabine

Comments

• Ne
    Ne Member Posts: 336
    Dear Sabine, I hear the anxiety in your post and am so sorry that you have to endure these frightening memories.  I think knowing what I know now we should give ourselves every opportunity to stay on top of our health and do whatever possible to reduce our risk of any kind of new or recurrent cancer.  In my humble opinion, if you ignore them you will probably worry about 'what if".  You would be devastated if your had the opportunity to check something but ended up not doing it out of fear and then get a diagnosis later when prevention is then impossible and treatment options become less effective.  I would say, do it afraid, just do it.  Get someone to go with you to hold your hand and to be there for the results too.  Get a friend or relative that can stay calm and help you to be calm.