A journey ahead.

pink_pen
pink_pen Member Posts: 10

Hello all, this is my first post...

At 34 years, I felt life was good, happily married, achieved my dream career and blessed to be able to spend time with little daughter.  Life couldn't get much better until my world was turned upside down after being diagnosed with breast cancer on June 6th of this year. The last 4 months has been full of mixed emotions, decisions and things I never thought  I would be faced with. I'm currently having chemotherapy and at the end of this year have to undergo a mastectomy. Family and friends have been amazing and I see a psychologist regularly but I feel like I need to reach out to this amazing network, to help me through. Work is currently on standstill, but I just want to get back to normal, but my hair loss is starting to get the better of me and making me anxious about getting back to work.

Comments

• Ro10
    Ro10 Member Posts: 59
    Hi there, I am also new to this. I was diagnosed with early breast cancer in the last month and have only had surgery but haven't started chemo yet. I am also in a similar situation to you. I am 34 years old, happily married and have a beautiful 14 month old daughter. It just doesn't seem fair to be facing this at such a young age. I will probably start my chemo in the next few weeks and am feeling very anxious about the obvious side effects like hair loss. I wil be following your post to see what other advice people can offer. xxx
  • ccasper
    ccasper Dragonfly Posts: 190
    Hi @pink_pen

I 100% know where you are coming from. I just started my teaching career after having a a few career changes and was four days out from celebrating my son's first birthday when I got my diagnosis. I am currently having chemo too and plan to have a double mastectomy also.
    huge life decisions that completely throw you. I have so much support its been overwhelming. I couldn't do it if it wasn't for my little boy.