Just home from hospital after L breast resection

Jannor
Jannor Member Posts: 3
edited April 2018 in Newly diagnosed
Hi I am also a newbie -another 1 in 8 statistic in Australia. A breast abnormality was detected during my routine mammogram. The scanner said good luck! to me as I left which I thought was odd. Sure enough 3 weeks later I was recalled for repeat scans and biopsy. Two days later I was told my biopsy showed Invasive Ductal Carcinoma Stage 1 Grade 2. I was in total shock for a few hours and luckily took a girlfriend with me.  Twenty days later I had a trying day during which I had the carbon tracking procedure, then sentinal node mapping and then  surgery to remove lump and sample node. I am now awating the pathology results to confirm the next steps -hopefully radiotherapy only.
Tagged:

Comments

• Zoffiel
    Zoffiel Member Posts: 3,372
    Waiting is the hardest thing. Hopefully you are going to get some good news. Mxx
  • tigerbeth
    tigerbeth Member Posts: 539
    @Jannor feel for you ! My story mirrors yours , I am having my surgery tomorrow & then the wait for results .
    Good luck hoping for a good outcome for you 
    Hugs xx
  • Finch
    Finch Member Posts: 302
    Welcome @Jannor to the club but sorry you're joined us .  This is a fabulous place to be for all your questions and worries.  All the ladies are so helpful and everyone understands because we've all been there.  
    I had the same as you back in February, I found my lump myself, mammogram and ultrasound, core biopsy, four of those carbon tracking injections and lumpectomy .  All seemed to happen very quickly and then after the lumpectomy I felt like it was ages until the results came in. Such a worrying time.  Hope you've got a couple of nice things planned while you're waiting. Like you I hoped I wouldn't need chemo, but here I am almost half way through my chemo course and it hasn't been too bad at all. 
    Take care and hope results are good .  Big hugs xxxx
  • kmakm