Stopping medication

NolaJS
NolaJS Member Posts: 11
edited February 2018 in General discussion
Hello, I am now 10 years cancer free, thank God, and have now been seen by my Oncologist for the final time. He also said that I can now stop Arimidex. Whilst I am happy to have these results (thus saving $$$) I also feel nervous about stopping everything. Is this a normal reaction?
Tagged:

Comments

• LMK74
    LMK74 Member Posts: 795
    Hi @NolaJS, congratulations being 10 years cancer free . It's what we all hope for and I think it's totally natural to feel the way you do.  I'm only very new to Arimidex and started on it in December when I finished all my treatment, so I've a way to go yet. You'll be fine. Wishing you all the best for a long healthy life.
  • SoldierCrab
    SoldierCrab Member Posts: 3,445
    hi @NolaJS
    it is very normal to be nervous about the fact you have come to end of term... and end of seeing the Oncologist it feels let you have been let out to float.... 
    I am the same 5yrs out from TNBC and I have been set free to float.... 

hugs 
    Soldiercrab

• Harlee
    Harlee Member Posts: 106

Yes I think this is a completely normal reaction.
    I'm at 4 and a half years - currently on Arimidex and although it gives me a few issues with joint pain I'm terrified of stopping at 5 years. I'm actually considering down playing the pain at my next oncologist visit so that I stay on it - along the lines of it's there but I can cope with it!
    Part of me longs for the day when I no longer have to take this stuff but the other part of me remembers my oncologist saying you are 100% estrogen positive - you need to take anti hormone medication for as long as you can. 
    Congratulations on 10 years! That's really exciting for you.
  • Mollygirl
    Mollygirl Member Posts: 213
    @NolaJS, big congrats on your 10 year milestone !!! Go you!!!