Do I choose surgery or chemo first?

JoB
JoB Member Posts: 8
I posted my first discussion last week and now I have a bit more information I thought I would give you an update.
I have Hormone Receptor (HR) Oestrogen (ER+PR+)HER2.  I was booked in for a lumpectomy next week but now my surgeon wants me to see an oncologist on Friday to discuss having chemo before surgery.  I was all set for the surgery and had got my head around it and now I am faced with having to make another decision and aren't sure what to do for the best.(If only I had a crystal ball)

I am fit and healthy at the moment and I think this is the best time for me to have surgery and then tackle the chemo after.  If I have chemo first and it knocks me for 6 I think the recovery for surgery will take me a lot longer.  I was under the impression that chemo was only done for mastectomy cases, and a mastectomy has never been mentioned for me, but I am no expert.

I received my journey kit and I have been reading through that and also gone through the pros and cons of Neoadjuvant chemo.   This cancer is inside me and I want it out, sooner rather than later!!

Comments

• SoldierCrab
    SoldierCrab Member Posts: 3,445
    @JoB  it is quite common now for them to do chemo prior to surgery as it shrinks the tumours etc and makes it easier for them to get clear margins.... 
    it is a lot to get your head around.

Do you have someone to take with you this new appointment? 
    Have you got a Breast Care Nurse yet ? 

She is often a good source of being able to bat the pros and cons with so that you know, that you understand why they are suggesting something. 
    I am sure some of the others who have a similar pathology at this stage to you will give you some more information and help you understand the process more.