Newbie Flozza105 needs advice about travel insurance etc.

SoldierCrab
SoldierCrab Member Posts: 3,445
Hi there all you brave and wonderful women.
Im new to this. I was diagnosed with mets of the bones and now in my liver.
Im 55 years old and staying as positive as possible. 
My niece wants me to go to Japan in March for Cherry Blossom season.  One of my dream trips! But the whole travel insurance thing has me baffled.
Plus im on oral chemo and the worst-case scenarios scare me to travel.
Thoughts and advice please
January 19Comment
  • Zoffiel
    Zoffiel
    Hi @flozza105
    We need to get you into the main Forum, It's a bit confusing, but if you go in through the Discussions tab you will see where all the chatter happens. There is also a group for those with metastatic cancer. There are some very experienced campers in there who will have heaps of advice. The travel insurance thing comes up all the time. I don't have the nouse to move your comment across to the other page @soldiercrab can you help?

Comments

• SoldierCrab
    edited January 2018
    @Flozza105
    I have copied this over to the main forum for you that way people will see it and help you with answers. 
    @Zoffiel
    I just copy and paste it as new discussion :D 

• SoldierCrab
    @mum2jj
    @Cate64
    @Hopes_and_Dreams
    @DearB
    Can you ladies help with insurance questions please
  • mum2jj
    mum2jj Member Posts: 4,327
    @Flozza105,
    I have had insurance with covermore, however was not metastatic. What you can do is get insured and just have some exclusions. EG I have ongoing back pain and so they did not insure me for anything back related but all other things were insured. If you are at the point where your Mets are stable and don’t think they will put your trip off you could maybe be insured for any other illness that may cancel your trip but not cancer related stuff. Yiu may like to read this previous post re insurance
    good luck 
    Paula x
  • Hopes_and_Dreams