Feeling very confused on treatment

SandraAnn
SandraAnn Member Posts: 2
Hi all. Have been diagnosed two weeks ago. Booked in for surgery on the 16th jan for double mastectomy but very unsure if to have reconstruction or not.  This is obviously depending on the results as well and if it has travelled to other areas or still in the breast area. 
I have organised for pet scan this week not through the hosp as i wanted to know more before i make a direction to go. Hoping i have made the right decision there as well.
I am 46 still young. 
This is crazy, never expected this to happen to me as only losing my mum to cancer 2.5 yrs ago and brother 8 weeks after that. Life is so short and dont realise how quick life can change. 
Thanks for listening guys 

Comments

• Sister
    Sister Member Posts: 4,960
    I'm not much use to you for any experience as I'm new to this to. Just wanted to say hi and welcome. You'll get lots of good info from others, though.
  • brightspace
    brightspace Member Posts: 445
    Hi Sandra ann yes many of us here have decided to delay recon there are many reasons for this .
    Big breath......you dont have to rush this  let your mind and body get over the surgery first treatment.
    rads and chemo also can delay recon  Some have had recon years later All best Bright
  • SoldierCrab
    SoldierCrab Member Posts: 3,445

Do you have a breast care Nurse? https//www.mcgrathfoundation.com.au/OurMission/OurNurses/FindANurse.aspx 

https//www.bcna.org.au/resources/  Do you have a My journey Kit? 

@SandraAnn here are some resources that you might like to know about. 

• primek
    primek Member Posts: 5,392