Chemo first

Options
Silverlining
Silverlining Member Posts: 10
Hi all,
Newly diagnosed...was it just last week?  Feels like a lifetime ago.  My surgeon has recommended chemo before surgery.  Something I wasn’t expecting.  I’d done all my research on breast cancer surgery and now feeling a bit adrift.  I’d love to hear from anyone out there who went through chemo before surgery. Can’t quite get my head around the idea that the cancer isn’t being physically removed with surgery straight away.

Comments

• KatyJoy
    KatyJoy Member Posts: 181
    Options
    Hi Silverlining,
    Welcome! I had chemo before my surgery after my diagnosis of early breast cancer in October 2016. I am a nurse and I must admit, I hadn’t really heard of neoaduvant chemotherapy before, and once I knew about my cancer, I just wanted them to remove it! There are pros and cons with everything though. The aim of having chemo first is usually to try to shrink the cancer so that surgery is easier. I had scans throughout my chemo and I must admit, It was great to see my tumour shrinking and know the chemo was working. After surgery, you are assuming the chemo will mop up any stray nasty cells, but you cant actually see it. For me, I found chemo difficult, but everyone’s different. It was good that it was over and done with by the time I had surgery, then just had to recover from the surgery.  Your treatment team will choose the best plan for your own individual situation. I wish you all the best. This time is so hard, but once you have a plan and start your treatment, you will feel better. Best wishes to you,
    Kate x
  • iserbrown
    iserbrown Member Posts: 5,552
    Options
    https://www.bcna.org.au/understanding-breast-cancer/treatment/neoadjuvant-chemotherapy/

Hope the above link helps - it is from the website of BCNA
  • Moosie
    Moosie Member Posts: 30
    Options