Newly diagnosed and pregnant

CourtneyBianca
CourtneyBianca Member Posts: 7
Hello, I am very very new to this network and I was hoping to hear from anyone who may be or have been in a similar situation to me. I received my diagnosis on Monday just gone and am 17 weeks pregnant. I am going in for breast conserving surgery tomorrow and will meet with the oncologist next week to discuss chemo. There is no family history of breast cancer and I have just recently turned 30. I have been told we have a very small window for safe treatment and we are going to be meeting our baby much much earlier than we would like to. Feeling very scared and stressed and hoping for some advice from ladies who have gone through this themselves! I really wish everyone in this community all the best on their journeys xx

Comments

• Afraser
    Afraser Member Posts: 4,352
    No wonder you feel stressed. But you will start treatment and that's a good thing (even if it doesn't feel at all like that at the minute). Now is the time, if you can, to put your welfare first - both you and your baby need that. Take what help you can get. Don't get too caught up with long term issues but take each step one by one. Being scared is natural but can get in the way. Get determined and never underestimate your own capacity to handle stuff. Very best wishes. 
  • Molly001
    Molly001 Member Posts: 419