Why not join the Living with metastatic private group? Access group via the link here.

My first post

denisep
denisep Member Posts: 14
edited September 2016 in Metastatic breast cancer

Hi everyone, this is my first time to reach out to anyone out there who maybe able to help me. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in May 2010. Had mastectomy, chemo, radiotherapy. In March thru to April 2011 had a failed attemped at breast reconstruction.

In  October 2012 I was diagnosed with secondary breast cancer in the liver and bones. After ct scans and various other tests revealed both had spread extensively thru my body. I have had xeloda, navelbine, denosamab injected every month.

Over the past year my bone cancer has been the worst. If not for it I would be quite well and life would have stayed somewhat normal. Unfortunately, I no longer drive the car , I walk with a walker, and need care to dress, get in and out of bed etc. The plus is that I try to greet everyday with a smile and I remind myself of the things I can do rather than what I can't.

My carer is my wonderful hudband. He now works 3 to 4 days a week. We have had an enormous roller coaster ride since my first diagnosis. I have my pain managed but find I have to rest most of the day and fear this will worsen. I am almost at the end of my tether.  

I saw my oncologist last week and I had to make the decision to go on more intravenous chemo, more ct scans , blood tests, maybe a bone marrow biopsy,  or to let things take their course.I have chosen to go ahead another time.

I hope I am strong enough. Is anyone out there a bit like me and can you suggest maybe some pain relief you have found helpful. 

Looking forward to hearing from someone out there.

Kind regards, Denise

Comments

• Robyn W
    Robyn W Member Posts: 1,932
    edited March 2015