Newbie here

Options
joeybutts
joeybutts Member Posts: 14
edited October 2016 in Newly diagnosed

Hi

I have been lurking here for a couple of weeks now and have really enjoyed reading all the posts....

I am 50 and was diagnosed with breast cancer on the 18th dec...its been a bit of a wait over the Christmas break for the journey to begin, but have spent this time drinking wonderful green smoothies/juices and taking vitamins to boost my immune system for what lies ahead..

There is so much new lingo to learn...all i know about mine at this stage is that its the hormone one that has gone into a duct...so i cant name it with the proper terminology. The surgeon said that I will have to have radiotherapy and possibly chemo.

I am having a lumpectomy and sentinel node biopsy on the 15th jan....after the sentinel node scan that morning...i have a 2 hour drive between scan and surgery as I live in regional nsw...so its going to be a long day.

I was wondering if anyone knows if there is a gap fee that i will have to pay for the sentinel node scan...

This site has been really good, full of useful information...and the my journey kit has some great books...its amazing and reassuring to know that there is so much support available...

All the best for those having surgery today, I am sure that they are not on line, but sending you good wishes anyway...

jo

Tagged:

Comments

• Robyn W
    Robyn W Member Posts: 1,932
    edited March 2015
    Options