Why not join the Living with metastatic private group? Access group via the link here.

Being a Voice

MandaMoo
MandaMoo Member Posts: 500
edited September 2016 in Metastatic breast cancer

It's been a while since I blogged but I have been thinking lately about the small voice of those of us who are living with advanced BC.

So I thought I would try to blog a little more regularly to be another little voice, another way of making a small contribution.

I recently celebrated turning 40 and found loads of great photos - I am an avid photographer but I have to say I am a very poor cataloguer - better with digital but still not great.  This morning Mic and I were working on a school project in which she need to do a photo board and I started going through the loads of pre-digital prints!  What a mess - it is one of those jobs that never gets done.  It seems as I look that I am missing Alex's Christening photos and I also "lost" her birthday photos from 2009 with a hard drive crash.  Little things but frustrating - what if they need these images to remember me?  I remembered that I only half finished Alex's baby book and poor Gus doesn't even have one.  They have loads in their memory boxes but boy - life was busy when they were little and it is still busy now they are bigger.  I did manage to get my photobooks  up to date until 2008 and I'm still going with the others but getting there.  The problem with being a photographer is you want to enhance all of your prints - even the family snaps! Then you often get sidetracked on a trip to disneyland and before you know it, hours have passed and nothing is achieved.  Then I panic - I have to produce these, they have to be printed, no one will know what to do with it all when I'm gone.  It may sound morbid but these thoughts are never far from my consciousness.  I am far from dead but I have a newfound appreciation of how quickly things can change and feel this urge often to organise my life more.  Photos are just part of it,