New diagnosis

Options
Bunny ears
Bunny ears Member Posts: 2
edited October 2016 in Newly diagnosed
Hello,
I have just been diagnoses with breast cancer. It is still like a dream, where I am in it but not taking part. This is my own worst nightmare, as I am a trained oncology nurse myself.
I found a lump in my armpit a while ago. I had a very bad tooth infection when the limp showed, so everyone was thinking that was related. Well the tooth was fixed, but the lump decided to stay. Ultrasounds x2 were negative, so fine needle biopsy was done which showed the malignancy. Then the final diagnosis came with the CT scan. So now I had all other tests like core biopsy, more ultrasounds, mammogram the whole lot and am now awaiting a meeting with the oncologist.
The plan is to have neoadjuvant chemo to shrink it and then surgery at some point later.
It is really hard to grasp at this stage and it's looming over my head like a rain cloud. I have hours of being fairly "normal" and than it hits you again like a steam train. But need to stay strong now, as there is sooooo much I still want to do.
Tagged:

Comments

• adean
    adean Member Posts: 1,036
    edited March 2015
    Options