Rapid mass growth no diagnosis yet

Auntieshell78
Auntieshell78 Member Posts: 11
edited June 2018 in Newly diagnosed
Hi All,
I am totally new to this group and would really appreciate your experience.

I am 40 this year, small 5mm breast lump identified in left breast last year. Rechecked this week and its grown to 17mm in just over 6 months. Its so deep i cant feel it. I intially went for issues with my right breast. I Had an ultrasound and mammogram and for a biopsy on monday. I have never been tested for Brac genes. My maternal grandmother died from ovariam cancer. I have had carcinoma insitu of cervix and resulting hysterectomy and then vulvectomy and anal surgery too in my 30th year, due to hpv and abnormal cells for years and years. I have other chronic health issues but essentially am a busy mum who never sits or stops. Im a nurse and am currently jumping from not concerned to very concerned. I would love your advice. Thanks xx
Tagged:

Comments

• kmakm
    kmakm Member Posts: 7,974
    Hi and welcome. We all understand that horrible time at the beginning, when wondering fills our every waking thought. It won't be cancer, it will be cancer, it will be, it won't be... Dreadful. Unfortunately there's nothing for it but to wait. Some people find meditation helps (I use the Headspace app on my phone), but my main tool was distraction. Try to do things that you enjoy, keep busy (not hard with kids, I have four!), lean on your friends.

You've had your health issues, and you're a health professional (we have a few of those here, @onemargie and @JoeyLiz spring to mind), which I would imagine has some positives and negatives when faced with a situation like this. Try not to cross bridges until you come to them, stay present as much as you are able. You'll find the same phrases come up a lot here, one day at a time is one of them.