Still not sure of diagnosis.

Geenahfb
Geenahfb Member Posts: 3
Hi just checking in as a complete newbie.

I am 46 and newly diagnosed last Thursday 10/5......yay me....last time I think a lump is nothing.  Its funny how when you find one how much you convince yourself it’s nothing or just a cyst or fatty tissue.

Ok, so I had FNA which came back non diagnostic with some blood and ductal epithelial cells, which no one knew what it meant so my doctor (lovely man) sends me to a Breast Surgeon in Adelaide.

Down we come, at this stage I am still convinced of my own diagnosis, and in for 3D mammogram and a core biopsy (3 jabs and then a 4th just to sure).  Back to the waiting room to sit patiently and wait.

In to see the doc again and all of a sudden time freezes straight after he starts throwing the ‘C’ word around, WOW so not expecting that, so still not too sure what he said just that we needed to wait for the pathology reports due tomorrow and to go have a bone scan and chest X-ray. Ok.

Since then he rung to say definitely cancer, schedule a lumpectomy and sentinel node biopsy for 23/5. My body scan was clear so contained in breast.

Comments

• steplightly
    steplightly Member Posts: 185