Nothing to wear except for black pants and flat shoes. Arrrgh.

Options
Zoffiel
Zoffiel Member Posts: 3,372
edited March 2018 in General discussion

I don't want to go to my graduation ceremony. I've never gone any of my graduation ceremonies--a degree, two Diplomas, two Cert IV and two Cert III; I've always just had the paper work posted out.

I did a double Advanced Diploma while I was in treatment and, tomorrow, I'm supposed to turn up and get the piece of paper. In public. I bloody loathe crowds, waiting and artifice but, most of all, I hate the fact my bloated autopaused  body won't fit into any of my lovely stylish clothing. GGGAARRRGGGHH!

No amount of deep breaths, shape wear, orthopedic stockings or creative op shopping is going to get me into anything classic other than bloody black pants, a shapeless top and flat shoes. OMG, who would have thought my life would come to this?

Should I succumb to the ordinary or go seriously OTT ridiculous? I refuse to wear the 'deconstructed' clothing that is currently marketed to the fuller figure--who the hell is fooled by any of that?  Maybe looking like a footballer in drag is better than looking like a Sad Nanna?

Comments

• primek
    primek Member Posts: 5,392
    Options
    Well it's probably too late but there really are some nice bigger clothing out there. I found slightly eccentric bohemian style suited me. It allowed camoflage layering which actually has fooled people in my case. But dress up the boring stuff with stylish jewelry or scarves if nit too hot. I found a use for all my scarves. Haha. Autograph have some beautiful clothes if you require a large 16. 
  • Zoffiel
    Options
    I'm in denial about layers. You should see my bedroom at the moment--thousands of dollars of doesn't fit. Sigh.
  • Zoffiel
    edited March 2018
    Options

All of which is a 1st world problem and officially qualifies as a rant. Sigh.

• kmakm
    kmakm Member Posts: 7,974
    edited March 2018
    Options