Is it possible for a 16-year-old to get breast cancer?

Options
I'm 16 and have a family history of breast cancer. My mother carried both the BRCA 1 & 2 genes (and was diagnosed during her mid-thirties) from my nan, who had breast cancer three times. I've been checking my breasts regularly from the age of 13 (at my pop's suggestion), and have recently noticed a small lump underneath my left nipple, as well as discharge from my nipple, a rash around it and a painful breast. Is it possible for me to have breast cancer at this age?

Comments

• Sister
    Sister Member Posts: 4,960
    Options
    I'm no expert @tallytubby2001 but ANY breast changes should be checked out.  If nothing else, it will give you peace of mind as you are going to worry about it if you don't.  So, please, go to your GP and if you need to, insist on getting it thoroughly checked.
    Best Wishes for you
  • tallytubby2001
    tallytubby2001 Member Posts: 6
    Options
    @Sister
    Thank you. I'm very worried, and I'm making an appointment for the GP when I have my next spare moment.
  • Sister
    Options
    Keep an eye out on this discussion - I'm sure one of the moderators will be in touch with you soon. @Giovanna_BCNA @Marianne_BCNA?
  • Tracey_BCNA
    Tracey_BCNA Member Posts: 34
    Options
    Hi @tallytubby2001
    I will send you a pm
  • JoeyLiz
    JoeyLiz Member Posts: 339
    Options
    The youngest I have known is 12 :(
    please get it checked
     im sure the wonderful administrators here can offer you advice
  • Romla
    Romla Member Posts: 2,092
    Options
    @tallytubby2001 go see your gp and get it checked for peace of mind
  • Jane221
    Jane221 Member Posts: 1,195
    Options
    Best wishes for your appointment, hoping all goes well for you xx
  • Payne
    Payne Member Posts: 150
    Options
    Keep us posted @tallytubby2001. Thinking of you x
  • Scared Mum
    Scared Mum Member Posts: 169
    Options
    Best wishes for your appointment tomorrow <3