My password finally worked! But I've been following you all...

Mollygirl
Mollygirl Member Posts: 213
hi Everyone, 

Firstly,  a big thank you to you all.  I've been reading lots of post which have helped me through the last 8 months. My chemo brain or something couldn't help me negotiate signing in. But finally, yay it worked and here I am. 

I was on a lovely months worth of leave in April when I got diagnosed with TNBC. I'm 47. My son was in year 12. And my husbands first wife died of cancer ( colon, several decades ago). I felt so guilty. What a whirlwind. PET CT and surgery ( lumpectomy and node biopsies) within the week. Then for chemo. Several suspicious lesions  chopped out prior to chemo starting ( I had a level 3 melanoma 2 years ago which I had surgery and grafting for) then started chemo. 
Ive had yearly screening for 11 years. I check my breasts ALL the time. It was only 10 months since my last mammogram and USS ( thank goodness I found it) 

I'm a nurse so for some reason I thought I'd be tougher than most. Im pretty fit and healthy so I thought I'd be tougher than most. I'm bloody minded so I thought I'd be tougher than most. Dear Lord, that chemo broke me ... ( oh yeah I realise it's not a competition, but hey,  thought I was going to fly through by being tough). 

Three, three weekly cycles of FEC ( oh, the dreaded epirubicin) then, three, three weekly cycles of Doxetaxel. All finished by the 21st September. I was so broken I could barely stand up for longer than two minutes. Thank god, for my plastic Bunnings chair in the shower. 

I have just had 3 weeks ago, bilateral mastectomies as I really didn't want to go down this road ever again. I am absolutely thrilled with the outcome. Looks so tidy and not nearly as bad as I thought. I don't intend to have reconstruction as I'm done. I mean done, no more surgery thank you very much.