A big thank you to mum2jj

Options
Cosette
Cosette Member Posts: 637

This week, @mum2jj unlocked the 2500 Comments badge. She joined the online network when it opened in May 2010 and is the first member to have made 2500 comments.

I reached out to her to thank her and to ask if I could embarrass her a little by publicly acknowledging her and thanking her for giving so much to this community. I also asked her to share her story with us. Here's what she had to say.
Hi, my name is Paula. I work part-time as a nurse. Like many of you I am a daughter, a sister, a wife, a mother and I have had breast cancer (twice).

I was first diagnosed with triple negative breast cancer in September 2009, two days before my 47th birthday. Like many of us, I was lucky enough to receive the My journey Kit and Berlei Bra. In those days, there was no online network. I pretty much went through my treatment without connecting with anyone who had breast cancer. I wasn't really the type to attend support groups. 

When I was re-diagnosed, I got a message from BCNA that they had an online network. I joined, but in the midst of more surgery and treatment, I couldn't figure out how it worked. Again, I just muddled through my treatment without contact with those who understood what I was going through. 

It wasn't until 2012 when I decided on reconstruction that I finally started to use the network. What I found then was such a wonderful community supporting one another every day in all things breast cancer. I was full of regret that I hadn't found and utilised this community earlier. I jumped right in not only trying to find support for my eventual breast reconstruction, but offering support where I could. Something I try to do as often as I can now.