Featured Posts from Yesterday

Options
Lizzie13
Lizzie13 Dragonfly Posts: 46
edited May 2016 in General discussion

Hi Everyone. I am new to posting although have been a reader for some months. I have found this forum to be helpful, interesting and sometimes downright scary and on a few (very few occasions) frustrated at trivial messages.

I am living with secondary breast cancer (diagnosed in Jan this year in my spine from c1 to l1, pelvis and ribs), I had been cancer free for three years and was a body builder, fitness freak, rehabilitation personal trainer/registered nurse and was starting a journey towards a world record for power lifting. I have a nursing degree and a psychology degree which I finished lying in bed doing an exam propped up with pillows the day after chemo/radio and 10days after a hip replacement just 8 weeks ago.

Living with breast cancer whether it is primary or secondary is scary, devastating, cruel, painful, frustrating and any other negative word we have in our beautiful English dictionary. Every morning I wake up and want to cry with fear, disappointment and dread and most of the time still disbelief. I suffer moments of deep depression and want it all to just end. I fear the future with treatments and different chemo's, I cry for my husband of 34 years, my 27year old daughter and 2 year old grandson. I am crippled and have only just started to walk again with a stick for short distances (October last year I walk 10000 steps just during my working day), I depend on my husband to cook, clean, make the bed and up until just recently shower me. Life is very different and not a happy place! I try my hardest to look positively to the future but some days it is shadowed with unbelievable grief. I am responding well to treatment and a bone scan next week will my Oncologist suggest some very good results.