Options
RosG
RosG Member Posts: 24
edited October 2016 in Newly diagnosed

Hi Everyone

I'm a newbie to all of this - both the cancer and the online chatting.  I feel I am verrry lucky - early detection - Grade 2 invasive lobular tumour.  Tumour removed with good margins and 2 lymph nodes - no travelling.  I am almost finished radiation and going well.  So I'm about to start on the Arimidex.  I am 59 and already have thin bones.  I don't like the sound of all the side affects.  Does anyone have stats on not taking the drug?  Love to hear from anyone. 

Tagged:

Comments

• Catscrapcats
    Catscrapcats Member Posts: 86
    edited November 2015
    Options

Hi Newbie, I'm in a similar boat. Lumpectomy for grade 2 invasive ducal cancer and am have had 17 of 30 radio treatments. I am 54 and will need to start tamoxifen according to my surgeon who gave me the script and said take these when you finish radio and see you next March. Sounds like I won't lose bone density with this but some of the other side effects sound pretty awful. Who are we supposed to find out more about it from? Had thought about seeing my local GP when I finish radio. He will be who I run to with problems I'm guessing. Hope you get some answers too.

• Janiot
    Janiot Member Posts: 35
    edited November 2015
    Options

Hello - I am 57, grade 2 invasive lobular cancer - had mastectomy and have had 11 of 33 sessions of radiotherapy so far- will start Letrozole for 10 years- 2 weeks after radiotherapy completed . Already have bad menopausal symptoms ( Google 7 dwarves of menopause - that is me??)  since stopping HRT in July, taking vitamin D daily will add calcium in December- bone density was good in July. 

Figure this will be my journey for the next 10 years-  next see surgeon in January - to check radiotherapy has not damaged implant- then see med oncologist in March-

one day at a time..??

Jan

• Robyn W
    Robyn W Member Posts: 1,932
    edited November 2015
    Options