Hi

Neanie
Neanie Member Posts: 8
edited November 2016 in Community news and events

Hi all - I'm a newbie here - have just been diagnosed with TNBC - struggling to get my head around it............I went to the GP about 6 weeks ago with a scratchy throat and some swollen glands - he ran some tests and ordered a chest x-ray - chest x-ray showed emphysema 'oh and btw you have a lump in your breast' - had a partial mastectomy 10 days ago - pathology came back triple negative grade 3 - next stop oncology..................feeling a little overwhelmed...........

Comments

• Robyn W
    Robyn W Member Posts: 1,932
    edited March 2015

Welcome to the online network:) Goodness,what a shock to find out that you have BC like this!! I didn't have triple negative,but I can tell you,that these days,BC is very treatable.After the initial shock,which we all go through,the best thing that you can do is try hard to take things one day at a time.Be guided by your doctors,as they are the ones that know your case the best.Try not to google too much,as there is SO MUCH wrong information out there.I was diagnosed 18 months ago.I have had a mastectomy amd chemo.I had my 18 month checkup yesterday,and my oncologist commented on how healthy I am looking.I feel really good,so remember,there is a great life after BC.Stay in touch on here for support and advice.CheersRobyn xox

• Michelle_R
    Michelle_R Member Posts: 901
    edited March 2015

Hi Neanie,  welcome to the best site on the net for support and advice.  I am Triple Negative too, and there is a group of us on the site where you will find lots of information from others who have been right where you are now.  We tnbc's are nearly always Grade 3 when we are diagnosed.  I had chemo & radiation after surgery, and now it is 3 years later and I am feeling fit and healthy again.  There is light at the end of the tunnel, Neanie - just take things one day at a time, and stay in touch with us all.  Big hug.  x Michelle

• Neanie